Out of Youngstown, Ohio comes a band so cool, so fun, and so rock and roll that I guess you could say they are, RADD!!! RADD released their first full lenth album on August 29, 2017 called “Selfishly Titled.” I guess you could consider this band a supergroup depending on who you talk to. Sounds good in my mind at least. All the band members having played in other groups some of whom are The Spastic Hearts, Johnie 3, First In Space, The Lebowskis, The Hollywood Blondes, and Hi-Life.

This album starts off strong with its opening song “Red Light” which is just the beginning of the punk rock assault that the rest of the album has in store. I can definitely here a lot of influence from bands such as The Ramones and The Descendants as well as a few chords here and there that bring me back to some of the old Johnie 3 albums. Having listened to this album enough times that I have since lost count, I find that it is very tough to pick a favorite song. I will say that off the top of my head the stand out songs for me are definitely “Crossed My Heart”, ” American Psycho”, and the track that ends the album “Anyway.”

The songs are all well written and the music is very tight and on the money. It is near impossible not to catch yourself singing along at some point or another while listening to the album. For it being Mikey doing lead vocals on an album for the first time the vocals turned out great. And Stiv and Ang sharing lead vocals on “Crossed My Heart” is like magic. The song grabs my attention and causes me to reminisce over that one break up that I think most of us have lived through. Not to mention Beau Basement on the drums that carry the music throughout the album!!!! This is easily in my top albums of 2017 and will be in heavy rotation for quite some time.

Do yourself a favor and be sure to grab your self a copy of RADD- Selfishly Titled on cd and cassette tape. Yes, that is right, I said cassette tape. So, dig out your old walk man and wipe away that dust and run down to the local dollar store for your AA batteries and throw on those headphones as you escape the threat of nuclear destruction for just awhile and allow yourself to enjoy the music and feel RADD for just a little while.

Facebook

Bandcamp

One thought on “RADD – Selfishly Titled

Leave a comment